Lighting endlessness

After an incredibly long deployment at the Day Job, arrived home close to 3; bone-tired, but when I looked up there was Jupiter, the half Moon, and Aldebaran in Taurus, in a perfect line. Despite weariness I dropped my stuff and grabbed my binoculars for a better look. I’m rarely up this late so it was a sky markedly different from my recent expeditions between 9 and 11 PM; and dark enough for a good look at the Pleiades, the Hyades, and the Great Orion Nebula. Betelgeuse was visible, bright red, not too far above the horizon. Recently I was watching Brian Cox in Wonders of the Universe, enthusing how it might go supernova at any moment… within the next million years. That would be a heck of a show.

Here is Holiness — of the begonia leaf, and deer, and the star Aldebaran, lighting endlessness…
-Lou Harrison, “Four Strict Songs”

Leave a comment

Filed under Observations

Leave a Reply

